In 2014, the ANS Executive Council approved the creation of a Young Members Group, tasked with addressing the interests and needs of neurotologists in the early portion of their careers.  Eligible members include current ANS members, Neurotology Fellow or Trainee member within 8 years of graduation from fellowship (based on the criteria used by the Young Physicians Section of the AAO-HNS) and those currently in fellowship. 


ANS "Young" Members
7th Annual Virtual Social Event 

This year the Young ANS group is going virtual. We did not want to add anymore screen time to the already busy 2020 virtual ANS program, so instead we have chosen to coordinate this year’s event around the Neurotology Fellowship Match Day. Join us on October 23 @ 8:00 – 10:00 pm (Eastern Daylight Time) to welcome in the new Neurotology fellows!  

The event will start with a panel discussion from 8:00 – 8:50 pm (Eastern Daylight Time) on landing an otology/neurotology job from a crop of diverse, young faculty that have recently gone through the process. Learn what helped them get a position, pearls they wish they would have known during the process, and other advice to help navigate a stressful process during stressful times. Questions from the audience are encouraged.  

Panel Discussion

Time: 8:00 pm (Eastern Daylight Time) 


Meeting ID: 982 7535 6404
Passcode: YoungANS

After tackling that tough topic lets unwind with a virtual happy hour from 9:00 – 10:00 pm (Eastern Daylight Time). Jason Main, a certified sommelier and co-owner of The Wine Merchant, Ltd., will guide us through a virtual tour of Bordeaux wines. Jason provides entertaining and educational tastings with a casual vibe that is perfect whether you are a wine novice or wine aficionado. Through the generous support of Oticon Medical three bottles will be paid for (shipping not included) for interested participants. Space is limited so sign-up early! 

Virtual Bordeaux Wine Tasting

Time: 9:00 pm (Eastern Daylight Time) 

Registration: The bottles donated by Oticon Medical have been distributed. Thank you for everyone that registered (> 40 people!).  If you are still interested in watching and/or purchasing your own bottles please email [email protected]. A link to the tasting will be provided and The Wine Merchant, Ltd can offer advice on selecting similar bottles from your local store. 

Bordeaux Wine #1
2016 Clos des Lunes "La Petite Lune" Blanc, Bordeaux AOP
Wake up world, here’s a dry white Bordeaux that is enormously refreshing and stunning value for money. Bright apples and pears leap out at you. Juicy and rather sleek palate with a super clean, long finish. A blend of 50% sauvignon and 50% semillon.
91 points, James Suckling

Bordeaux Wine #2
2016 Chateau Poitevin, Medoc AOP (Left Bank)
Tasted at the Cru Bourgeois annual tasting, the 2015 Chateau Poitevin has a delightful, perfumed bouquet with black cherries, blueberry and a touch of incense. The oak here is nicely integrated. The palate is medium-bodied with fine tannin, very pure and feminine with a caressing, blueberry and cassis-tinged finish. Bon vin! This is by far and away the best wine that I have tasted from this Médoc estate.
91 points, The Wine Advocate

Bordeaux Wine #3
2015 Chateau Grand Destieu, Saint-Emilion Grand Cru AOP (Right Bank)
The 2015 Grand Destieu is very nicely done. Super-ripe black cherry, mocha, vanillin, cedar and sweet French oak effortlessly fill out the wine's frame. Drink this voluptuous, racy Saint-Émilion over the next decade or so.
91 points, Antonio Galloni (Vinous Media)

 ANS Trainee Members- The match cycle has been set up for the 2020/2021 Neurotology fellowship match.

Timetable: 2020 Neurotology Fellowship Match For 2021 Positions
SpecialtyApplicant registration beginsCAS target/deadline dateRank list submission deadlineResults released to programsResults released to applicantsResults released to medical schoolsPost-match vacancies posted onTraining position starts
Neurotology Monday,
Jan 27, 2020
N/A Tuesday,
Oct 13, 2020
Oct 20, 2020
Oct 20, 2020
Oct 20, 2020
Oct 21, 2020
July 2021


Dina Wong, Project Manager
SF Match
655 Beach Street
San Francisco, CA 94109
Main: 415-447-0350
Direct: 415-447-0355
Help desk: [email protected]
Direct email: [email protected]

Trainee Membership

The ANS Trainee membership category was created in 2004 by the ANS Executive Council with hopes that all Neurotology Fellows, Otolaryngology-HNS Residents, and Post Doctorate Researchers would apply for ANS entry-level membership as a full member at the close of his or her training. Trainee membership will co-terminate with the residency/training program at which time the Trainee member will be notified to apply for membership.

The following qualifications are required for Trainee Membership in the American Neurotology Society.

1. The candidate shall have earned a Medical Degree of MD, DO, PhD, or the equivalent.

2. In training in a field of study related to the field of Neurotology (Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Residency, Neurotology Fellowship or post doctoral research position).

3. Special interest in the field of Neurotology

4. Highest ethical and moral standards

5. Letter from Department Chair and/or Fellowship/Program Director validating your good standing as a Trainee including the duration of the program and expected date of completion. (letter must be uploaded with your application)

Trainee member applications are accepted year-around. Click here to download application instructions 
To complete the online application, click here

Please contact the Ashley Eikenberry with any questions. 

Email: [email protected]

Otology & Neurotology Cochrane Scholarships - Look for CFP in October/November

For information regarding available Cochrane Courses and writing Cochrane reviews, please see the following links: 

Cochrane Training 
How to Write a Cochrane Review