ANS Research Grant Award

Established: 2014/2015
First awarded: 2015
Funding provided by: the ANS Endowment Fund

NEXT FUNDING CYCLE - JULY 1, 2024 - June 30, 2025
Please click here for ANS Grant submission instructions 

UPDATED for 2024!
ANS Advancing Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility (DEIA)
in Otology and Neurotology Grant instructions

DI Grant - Funds based on project/budget / Up to $10,000 per year 


The ANS Research Committee reviewed 14 applications and recommended to the Council to fund three grant recipients for the upcoming funding cycle, July 1, 2024 - June 30, 2025. 

Congratulations to the 2024 ANS Research Grant Award recipients
(in alphabetical order)


Douglas M. Bennion, MD, PhD University of Iowa Characterizing the Translational Treatment Potential of Losartan After Acoustic Trauma
Alexander Chern, MD  Johns Hopkins University Psychometric Validation of an Item Bank and Development of a Profile Instrument Assessing Music Enjoyment in Individuals with Hearing Loss 
Ankita Patro, MD, MS Vanderbilt University Developing a Validated Adult Cochlear Implant Referral Guideline Using Machine Learning



The purpose of the American Neurotology Society (ANS) Research Grant is to encourage and support academic research in sciences related to the investigation of otology and neurotology.  Appropriate areas of research include diagnosis, management, and pathogenesis of diseases of the ear and/or skull base. Grants that focus on addressing clinical gaps are especially encouraged.  Grants may involve cell/molecular studies, animal research, or human subjects research.

The maximum award request is $25,000 per year (US dollars) and is annually renewable on a competitive basis. ANS may distribute up to three $25,000 grants each funding cycle.  Indirect costs (overhead), salary support are not allowed. Grants are available to physician investigators in the United States and Canada only. We particularly encourage those individuals without a history of K08, R03, R21, or R01 funding to apply. 

If you would like to submit a grant for consideration in 2024-25, the deadline for applications is March 4, 2024. Email a cover letter and application to Dr. Ronna Hertzano, [email protected], Chair of the ANS Research Committee and ANS Admin, Kristen Bordignon. 

ANS Grant Application Deadline is March 4th - 11:59 PM PT 


Click here for Fast Facts about the ANS Research Grant!

Please click here for ANS Grant submission instructions (revised in 2021)

The American Neurotology Society Research Fund only accepts grant applications and reference letters electronically. Please prepare your application electronically and have everything including reference letters contained within one PDF. Please submit your final PDF application by email.  Reference letters may be electronically prepared and signed as PDF documents, or may be scanned as PDF documents, in order that they may be included as part of the grant application. 

The grants and reference letters are to be submitted via email to Dr. Ronna Hertzano, Chair of the American Neurotology Society Research Committee, [email protected] and Kristen Bordignon, Administrator for the American Neurotology Society, [email protected] 

ANS RESEARCH COMMITTEE - Ronna Hertzano, MD, PhD - Chair

Ronna Hertzano MD, PhD
Aaron K. Remenschneider, MD (Chair-Elect)
Christine T. Dinh, MD
Courtney C.J. Voelker, MD, PhD
Samuel Gubbels, MD
Theodore R. McRackan, MD
Jason A. Brant, MD
Andrew A. McCall, MD
Rick F. Nelson, MD, PhD
Ana H. Kim, MD
Michael Hoa, MD (D/I Committee Chair-Elect)


Grant Submission Deadline: March 4

Previous Recipients

Christine T. Dinh, MD
University of Miami
Miller School of Medicine
Miami, FL

Cochlear irradiation and dosimetry: apoptosis, necrosis and hearing loss

 $25,000 2015 

Harrison W. Lin, MD
University of California-Irvine
Orange, CA

Chronic implantation of the facial nerve for selective facial muscle contraction  $25,000  2016

Michael S. Harris, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI 

 Verbal Memory as Outcome Predictor in Adults Receiving Cochlear Implants   $25,000   2017

Ksenia A. Aaron, MD
Stanford University
Stanford, CA

Modelling and Restoring Hearing and Vestibular Deficit of Non-Syndromic Deafness   $25,000   2018

Dunia Abdul-Aziz, MD
Massachusetts Eye & Ear
Boston, MA

Targeting Epigenetic Modifying Enzymes for Hair Cell Regeneration $25,000 2019

Tatiana Correa, MD, MPH
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA

Comparison of Surgical Routes for Localized Inner Ear Viral Vector-Mediated Gene Therapy in the Guinea Pig Using Helper-Dependent Adenovirus Type 5   $25,000  2020
Courtney C.J. Voelker, MD, PhD

University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA 

In Vivo Neuronal Mapping of the Auditory Pathway in Pediatric Patients with Congenital Unilateral Sensorineural Hearing Loss and those with Normal Hearing   $25,000  2020

Douglas Bennion, MD and Megan (Foggia) Jensen, MD 
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA

Durable Zwitterionic Thin Film Coatings for Cochlear Implant Biomaterials  $25,000  2020

Ashley E. Kita, MD
University of California, Los Angeles


Prolonged Elution of Cytokines for Inner Ear Rehabilitation

 $25,000  2021
Bing Teh, MD

Columbia University 
New York, NY

 Impact of Vestibular Dose on Post Gamma Knife Balance Function  $25,000  2021
Aida Nourbakhsh, MD, PhD
University of Miami
Miller School of Medicine
Miami, FL 
Molecular Mechanisms of Hypofractionation and Radiation Resistance in Vestibular Schwannoma $25,000 2022
Vivian F. Kaul, MD
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH
Improving Patient Satisfaction and Quality of Life Outcomes for Cochlear Implant Patients Through an Interactive Web and Mobile-Based Patient Education Platform $25,000 2022
Amit Walia, MD
Washington University

St. Louis, MO
Predicting Performance in Background Noise for Cochlear Implant Recipients using Electrocochleography $25,000 2022