Herbert Silverstein Otology/Neurotology Research Award 

ANS/AAO-HNS Otology/Neurotology Research Award
First presented: 2000
Funding provided by: Dr. Herbert Silverstein, ANS, & AAO-HNS

Congratulations Dr. Lindsay Scott Moore! 

Lindsay Scott Moore, MD was selected as the recipient of the 2022 ANS/AAO Herbert Silverstein Award. The purpose of her study is to evaluate the safety and specificity of fluorescently labeled anti-EGFR antibodies to detect cholesteatoma tissue in an in vivo murine model and an ex vivo model of human tissue. The overarching objective is to translate this technology into patients and utilize fluorescence imaging techniques to improve the ability of surgeons to localize and completely excise cholesteatoma during initial surgical resection.

Lindsay is a surgeon-scientist starting her second year of Neurotology fellowship at Stanford University. She completed medical school and residency at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). Her PI and primary research mentor is Dr. Konstantina Stankovic, who is the Department Chair at Stanford. Lindsay’s translational research interests include optical and fluorescence imaging and their applications in intraoperative surgical navigation, molecular characterization, and targeted drug development for various neurotologic pathologies, including cholesteatoma, vestibular schwannoma, and hearing loss. She has multiple publications in the field of fluorescence imaging from her work during medical school and residency at UAB on applications of this technique in head and neck cancer with her co-mentor, Dr. Eben Rosenthal. She enjoys hiking, traveling, classic fiction and film, geocaching, and exploring California’s many beautiful vineyards.

CORE Funding Opportunity Announcements

The ANS/AAO-HNSF Herbert Silverstein Otology and Neurotology Research Award will be available in 2024!
$25,000 ($12,500 per year), two years. One available. 

All applicants must submit a Letter of Intent (LOI) online.  The LOI includes the title of the project, the principal investigator, and an abstract of the work. See the proposal CENTRAL website (https://proposalcentral.altum.com) to begin the LOI process.

The ANS does not have member numbers, please disregard. If it’s required, just put 001

Click here for the eligibility checklist
If you have additional questions, please email [email protected] for assistance.

Award Information

  • The purpose of this award, which is jointly sponsored by the AAO-HNS Foundation and the ANS, is to support a clinical or translational research project focused on diseases, disorders, or conditions of the peripheral or central auditory and/or vestibular system among new full-time academic surgeons. The award is intended as a preliminary step in clinical investigator career development and is expected to facilitate the recipient's preparation of a more comprehensive individualized research plan suitable for submission to the National Institutes of Health or comparable funding agency.
  • $25,000, non-renewable, one to two years to complete project.
  • Please visit the CORE grant home page for additional information.


Previous Recipients

Lawrence R. Lustig, MD Johns Hopkins University 7/99
David R. Friedland, MD Johns Hopkins University 7/00-6/02
Rose Mary Stocks, MD University of Tennessee 7/02-6/04
Clifford R. Hume, MD, PhD University of Washington 7/03-6/05
Alan G. Micco, MD Northwestern University 7/04-6/06
Romaine Johnson, MD Children's Hospital Cincinnati 7/05-6/07
Joseph P. Roche, MD University of North Carolina 7/08-6/10
Alan Cheng, MD Stanford University 7/10-6/12
Yuri Agrawal, MD Johns Hopkins University 7/10-6/12
Nathan Schularick, MD The University of Iowa 7/12-6/14
Dylan Chan, MD, PhD University of California, San Francisco 7/14-6/16
David H. Jung, MD, PhD Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary/Harvard Medical School 7/16-6/18
Elliot D. Kozin, MD Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary/Harvard Medical School 7/18-6/20
 NO AWARD    7/20-6/22
Lindsay Scott Moore, MD  Stanford University 7/22-6/24